Possibilities for CM Punk

Hello Internet!

It’s my first blog post, and since no one seems to be talking about him (save for those who own computers), I think I’ll briefly talk about CM Punk.

Punk Wins! Punk Wins!

Last Sunday at WWE’s Money In The Bank pay-per-view, CM Punk defeated John Cena to win the WWE Championship in a match that many are calling one of WWE’s greatest ever. In addition to the match itself becoming an instant classic, the finish was a surprise as Punk was able to evade Alberto Del Rio’s Money in the Bank cash-in and actually leave the Allstate Arena (and the company) with WWE’s most prestigious title. Like many, the show left me stunned as well as anxious to see what happened next.

This entire CM Punk storyline has tapped into an audience that has been frustrated with WWE for years, and I think the reaction for Punk last Sunday should show that they have a huge opportunity here.

 

With social media becoming more and more prevalent, WWE has the chance to create a huge viral marketing campaign for CM Punk’s eventual return. Geeks like me LOVE that stuff. Granted, Punk’s already been making various “Non-WWE” appearances, so it seems they’re aware of the monster they’ve created. I just hope they keep it up.

Keep him off Raw, and keep doing this:

 

I know I may be dreaming and this would be completely outside their comfort zone, but I really hope WWE lets Punk wrestle at least one match in another company before he comes back. That would really be the icing on the cake for this whole storyline. But that’s just me.

Regardless, the past month of WWE programming has been a homerun. I haven’t been this excited for wrestling since the Invasion began (Wow, that was a legit decade ago).

Well, enough of my rambling about the obvious.

Goodbye Internet!

Posted on July 24, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

